Minutes of Graduate Faculty Meeting held on April 30, 2001

Chairman Don Madison called the meeting to order in the Carver/Tuner Room, UCE, at 3:30 pm.

- 1. Minutes of the March 5, 2001: A motion to approve the minutes was made by Nick Tsoulfanidis and seconded by Dan Waddill. Motion passed.
- 2. Proposal to change rules for Graduate Faculty membership (Nick Tsoulfanidis): Minor improvements in reading were suggested and incorporated as shown below. A motion to approve the change in rules (replace III.D. new version below) for Graduate Faculty membership was made by Nick Tsoulfanidis and seconded by Randy Moss. Motion passed.

New section III.D

III.D. Other:

- 1. A person not satisfying the criteria for membership may apply to become an Associate member. Upon the recommendation of the membership committee and approval by the Graduate Faculty associate membership will be granted. Examples of such persons are research, adjunct, or visiting professors, lecturers, etc. An Associate member is a non-voting member with a term equal to the normal review period or the length of their stay at UMR whichever is shorter.

 2. In the above, "non-voting" refers only to deliberations of the entire Graduate or Doctoral Faculty. Visiting, Research, or Adjunct Professors, if granted membership, shall enjoy all other privileges and responsibilities of voting members, including the privilege to chair, serve on, and vote in M.S., D.E., and Ph.D. advisory committees.
- 3. Approval of May Graduate (Graduate Students): A motion to approve the May Graduates was made by Dick Miller and seconded by Nick Tsoulfanidis. Motion passed.
- 4. Graduate Faculty Election of Officers for 2001-2002: Paul Stigall was nominated Parliamentarian by Nick Tsoulfanidis and seconded by Joe Newkirk. No additional nominations and Stigall was elected. Lokesh Dharani was nominated for Secretary by Nick Tsoulfanidis and seconded by Paula Lutz. No additional nominations and Dharani was elected. Don Madison was nominated for Chair by Nick Tsoulfanidis and seconded by Dick Miller. No additional nominations and Madison and elected.
- 5. New Business: None.

The meeting adjourned at 3:40 PM.

Respectfully submitted By Paul D. Stigall For Lokesh R. Dharani Secretary, Graduate Faculty