Meeting of the Graduate Faculty

Wednesday December 3, 2007

The regularly scheduled fall semester meeting of the Graduate Faculty was convened at 2:00 PM on December 3, 2007 in the Missouri Ozark room of the Havener Center. Minutes from the Spring 2007 meeting held on April 30, 2007 were approved unanimously.

The chairman reported that the mail ballot for the new graduate faculty bylaws was completed and the new bylaws were approved by a vote of thirty-four in favor and one opposed. The graduate faculty membership committee, as described in the new bylaws, will consist of Profs. Lance Gentry, Anne Maglia, Robert Montgomery, and Richard DuBroff.

The list of graduate degree and graduate certificate recipients for the December 2007 commencement ceremony was amended and approved unanimously. The additions and deletions to the list were noted by Laura Stoll.

New graduate forms for the approval of MS theses and PhD dissertations as well as non-signature title pages were considered by the graduate faculty. As a result of the discussion a few grammatical changes were proposed for the MS thesis and PhD dissertation approval forms. These forms will replace the current graduate forms II and VIII respectively. The forms with the proposed changes were approved unanimously. Non-signature title pages for both MS theses and PhD dissertations were proposed to replace the current title pages. The rationale for the new title pages was based on concerns for requiring advisory committee members' signatures on a publicly accessible document. These new title pages were also approved unanimously.

The following items were discussed under new business and will be referred to the graduate council:

- 1. If a graduate faculty member leaves the university, how long can they continue to be a member of the graduate faculty for the purpose of chairing or serving on graduate student advisory committees?
- 2. There is currently an inconsistency in the graduate catalog regarding the chair of a graduate student's advisory committee. Specifically, the chair of the advisory committee for masters students must be a member of the graduate faculty. The chair of the advisory committee for doctoral students is not required to be a member of the graduate faculty.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:30 pm. Copies of the new versions of graduate forms II and VIII and examples of the new non-signature title pages will be posted after the requested changes have been made.

Respectfully Submitted,

Richard E. DuBroff