Graduate Council Meeting Minutes October 19, 1995 Meramec Room, University Center

The meeting was called to order by the Chairman, Frank Blum, at 3:30 p.m. Members present were Rex Reed, Ralph Wilkerson, Richard Bryant, Richard DuBroff, Henry Metzner, Shari Dunn-Norman, Neal Anderson, Al Crosbie, S. N. Balakrishnan, Len Rahaman (for Darrell Ownby), Michael Van DeMark, Lokesh Dharani, Stephen Clark, Charles Haas, Shahla Keyvan, Gerald Cohen, Nick Tsoulfanidis, and Don Sharpsteen. Non-members present: Lee Saperstein,

- Bill Omurtag, Cihan Dagli, Vicki Gibbons, and Roberta Cox.
- 1. The minutes of the previous meeting of April 25, 1995 were approved.
- 2. Membership Committee. The first order of business was selection of new members for the Membership Committee for the Doctoral Faculty. The following new members were elected: Henry Metzner, Shahla Keyvan, and John Carstens.
- 3. Membership. Henry Metzner moved and it was seconded that Basic Engineering have a member on the Graduate Council. This action must be approved by the Graduate Faculty.

  [Douglas Carroll was elected to be that new member if the action is approved by the Graduate Faculty.]
- 4. Residency Waiver. A waiver of the Ph.D. residency requirement for ATCOM graduate student Terrence L. Reininger was discussed based on a request for consideration by Dean Robert Mitchell. His special place-bound situation and previous graduate residency at Texas A&M University were cited. The waiver was approved after it was moved by Henry Metzner and seconded by Shahla Keyvan.
- 5. Residency Requirements, etc. Based on a request by Dean Mitchell and Chancellor
  John Park, an ad hoc committee was appointed by Frank Blum to consider general policies on (a)
  residency requirements for doctoral candidates, (b) establishment of practice-oriented masters
  degrees, and (c) graduate credit for video courses. The committee members are Cihan Dagli,

Henry Metzner, Gary Patterson, Lee Saperstein, and Ralph Wilkerson. Gary Patterson will call

the first meeting. A report is expected at the next Graduate Council meeting.

 $\,$  6. Masters Theses. A committee to choose the best master's thesis to submit to St. Cloud

State University for the 1966 Distinguished Master's Thesis Award given by the Midwest

Association of Graduate Schools was chosen. The members are X B Reed, Shari Dunn-Norman, and Steve Clark.

7. Graduate Studies/Research. A short discussion was held concerning the  $\ensuremath{\mathsf{NRC}}$ 

ratings of doctoral programs and how UMR programs were rated. Some members were concerned  $\,$ 

about funding of graduate studies and research. Discussion revolved around improvement of  $% \left( 1\right) =\left( 1\right) +\left( 1\right) +$ 

graduate studies funding while at the same time maintaining support for the undergraduate

programs. Frank Blum agreed to arrange a Graduate Faculty meeting with Chancellor Park to

discuss graduate education and research at UMR. The Graduate Council approved of this by consensus.

The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m. Submitted by: Gary K. Patterson, Secretary