Graduate Faculty Meeting Minutes Missouri Ozark Room, Havener Center 4:00pm Monday, May 5, 2025

Present: Lijun Jiang, Jeffrey Winiarz, Susan Murray, Clair Kueny, Guang Xu, Haiming Wen, FNU Parveen, Garry Grubbs, Colin Potts, Jade Sinnott, Sharon Matson, Jordan Hannah, Fernando Chavez, Tina Balch In attendance on Zoom: Irina Ivliyeva, Steve Corns, Ed Malone, Sahra Sedigh Sarvestani, Vahe Permzadian, Kathryn Northcut, Serhat Hosder, Bella Gerlich, Jee-Ching Wang, Daniel Forciniti, Greg Tschumper, Pericles Stavropoulos, Jonghyun Park

President L. Jiang called the meeting to order, 4:00 pm

- 1. Approval of Minutes from the December 2, 2024, Meeting Motion to approve as written: Second: Approved
- Approval of Spring 2025 Commencement List (sent via email)

 Approved by a vote of the members in attendance.
- 3. Graduate Faculty Membership Vote for SP2025
 - a. 53 full and 12 associate memberships recommended for approval by the Membership Committee
 - b. Approved by a vote of the members in attendance. Associate Memberships: Jian Liu (New) Wenyu Liao (New) Taihao Han (New) Ahmed Sobhy (New) James Clutter (New) Rachel Bauer (New) Clayton Lungstrum (New) Fardis Nakhaei (New) Chen Zhu (New) Farhan Mumtaz (New) Victor Khilkevich (Renewal) Katie Shannon (Renewal)

Full Memberships: Venkata Allada Stuart Baur Martin Bohner **Douglas Bristow** Marco Cavaglia K. Chandrashekhara Chen Hou Genda Chen Minsu Choi Amitava Choudhury Cecil Eng Huang Chua Fatih Dogan Mina Esmaeelpour William Fahrenholtz Mehdi Ferdowsi

Dimitri Feys Daniel Forciniti Abhijit Gosavi Yijia Gu Serhat Hosder Yue-Wern Huang Ulrich David Jentschura Chang-Soo Kim Bih-Ru Lea FueWen Frank Liou Kelly Hong Liu **Douglas Ludlow** Sanjay Kumar Madria John McManus Julia Evgenyevna Medvedeva Dev Niyogi Monday Okoronkwo Ronald O'Malley Henry Pernicka Shun Saito Jagannathan Sarangapani Joshua Schlegel Thomas Schuman Julie Semon Pourya Shamsi **Ronald Stanley** Pericles Stavropoulos Jianmin Wang **Risheng Wang** Xuerong Wen David Westenberg Klaus Woelk Michael Wright Guang Xu Alexey Georgiyevich Yamilov Wen-Bin Yu Maciej Zawodniok Yishu Zhou

- 4. Election for Standing Committee (Nominations listed below)
 - a. Budgetary Affairs (One position available / Two-year term)
 - i. Michael Moats (Materials Science and Engineering)
 - b. All nominations were approved by a vote of the members in attendance
- Elections for Graduate Faculty President and Secretary for 2025 2026 (Nominations listed below)

 a. President
 - i. Lijun Jiang (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
 - b. Secretary
 - i. Jeffrey Winiarz (Chemistry)
 - c. All nominations were approved by a vote of the members in attendance
- 6. Motions approved by Graduate Council on February 5, 2025

- a. Change to Grad Track Pathway (GTP) Admission and Standards
 - i. Enrollment in the master's degree program for GTP students must begin no more than two semesters (summer session not included) following the bachelor's degree being awarded.
- b. Creation of Grad Track Pathway (GTP) certificate track
 - i. Allow eligible students to apply up to six credit hours (5000- and 6000-level lecture) taken while completing the bachelor's degree towards a future graduate certificate.
- c. Limiting credit hours for GTP/dual enrollment
 - i. Limiting GTP students to take only nine credit hours as dual enrollment credit in addition to the shared credit.
- d. The motions were approved by a vote of the Graduate Faculty members in attendance.
- 7. Motion approved by Graduate Council on March 5, 2025
 - a. Allow for an additional (second) semester of academic probation
 - i. Allow an additional semester of probation for exceptional cases as determined by the department or the program reviewer and approved by the Graduate Education office.
 - b. The motion was approved by a vote of the Graduate Faculty members in attendance.
- 8. Motions approved by Graduate Council on April 2, 2025
 - a. Revise contingency policy to remove advisor/committee member.
 - i. See attached document.
 - b. Adjust requirement of when Form 1 is due (pertains to master's degree students).
 i. See attached document.
 - c. The motions were approved by a vote of the Graduate Faculty members in attendance.
- 9. New business
 - a. Dr. Northcut and Dr. Murray presented on the proposed Teaching Improvement Plan Guidelines.
 i. See attached document.
- 10. The Graduate Faculty award ceremony followed the Graduate Faculty meeting.
 - a. The winners for the 2024-2025 Graduate Faculty awards are as follows:
 - i. Outstanding Contributions to Graduate Education Award: Dr. Guang Xu Department of Mining and Explosives Engineering
 - ii. Graduate Staff Excellence Award: Fernando Chavez Office of Graduate Education
 - b. Congratulations and thank you for your valuable contribution!

The meeting adjourned at 4:25 p.m.